Third party candidates in tomorrow’s Illinois primaries

The following is from the Illinois Green Party, and might shed a bit of light on what kind of elections are taking place in Illinois on the 22nd (below is information from other third parties on the non-partisan primaries):

On Tuesday, Feb. 22, Municipal primaries will be held in several towns across Illinois, including a few locations where Green Party recognized candidates are running.


The following Illinois Green Party-recognized candidates are running in the Chicago aldermanic election:

Alberto Bocanegra, 12th Ward,
Devon Reid, 26th Ward,
Matt Reichel, 47th Ward,

Any candidate that receives more than 50% of the vote in Chicago’s Feb. 22 election is elected. If no candidate receives more than 50%, there will be a run-off between the top two vote-getters on April 5, 2011.


In Carbondale, Brent Ritzel is one of four candidates for mayor. The top three vote-getters will advance to the April 5 Consolidated Election. For more information, visit

Green Party member Jessica Bradshaw will be one of 16 candidates on the ballot for three Carbondale city council seats. The top 12 vote-getters will advance to the April 5 Consolidated Election. For more information, see Bradshaw for City Council on Facebook.


In East St. Louis, there will be an aldermanic primary, where the top 8 candidates will go on to compete in the April 5 Consolidated Election. Illinois Green Party members running in that race are Matt Hawkins andCourtney Johnson. For more information on Hawkins and Johnson, visit


Matt Reichel for Alderman will be hosting an election night gathering at 7 p.m. at O’Shaughnessy’s, 4557 N. Ravenswood, Chicago, to watch returns. All are invited.


The following candidates are listed on the Libertarian Party’s website, although it is unclear if they were running in the past or are currently running:

  • Edwin Everly – Rantoul Township High School Board (217-390-4695) email
  • Karen Green – Bloomington City Council Ward 2 (309-828-9828) emailweb
  • Steve Hellin – O’Fallon District 90 School Board emailweb
  • Doug Marks – Carpentersville Village Trustee (847-428-8349)
  • Jeff Ready – Bloomington City Council Ward 6 (309-319-0856) emailweb
  • Don Stover – Greenville City Council email
  • Karin Vermillion – Mahomet Library Board email
  • Brian Sasso – Lincoln-Way School Board email


Because the primaries are non-partisan, many candidates not endorsed by either major party are also running.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *