Green Party of Pennsylvania elects new steering committee at convention

A press release from the Green Party of Pennsylvania:

Monroeville, PA – On Feb. 21, 2010, the Green Party of Pennsylvania elected
a new Steering Committee for 2010.  I.K. Samways and Katrina Brabham of
Pittsburgh were elected as Chair and Secretary, respectively, while Vivek
Ananthan of Philadelphia was retained as party Treasurer.  Mr. Samways had
been serving as interim Secretary since April 2009, and follows in the
footsteps of Hillary Kane of Philadelphia, who stepped down as Chair after
three years of service.

Newly elected Steering Committee members are Guy Gray of Northampton County
and Sandra Hazley of Pittsburgh (also the current Chair of the Green Party
of Allegheny County), while returning to Steering Committee for another
one-year term are Tim Reim of Erie and Bob Small of Delaware County.

“I can only hope to approach what Hillary did as Chair to strengthen the
party and get more Greens involved at the State and National levels, and I
learned much from her example to guide me,” said Samways.  “We look forward
to an exciting campaign season with our US Senate, US House and Pennsylvania
House candidates, and feel that voters will very much appreciate having
viable alternatives to business as usual.”

The Green Party of Pennsylvania is independent political party that stands
in opposition to the two corporate parties.  The Green Party of Pennsylvania
stands for grassroots democracy, sustainable economics, nonviolence, and

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *