Libertarian Party of Tennessee elects new officers

(from left to right) Cole Eble (Vice-Chair), Tom Arnold (Chair),

David Jones (Secretary), and David Sexton (Treasurer)

Among other business, the Libertarian Party of Tennessee elected a new slate of officers. Tom Arnold was elected chairman. Cole Eble was elected vice chairman. David Jones was elected secretary. David Sexton was elected treasurer. The convention also revised the Libertarian Party of Tennessee bylaws to help meet the needs of a growing and vibrant party. Nearly one hundred delegates attended the convention, which was held in Murfreesboro Tennessee.

Anecdotally from those present, adding in non-delegates in attendance, about 120 people were present during the convention yesterday. The convention continued today with a training event by Michael Pickens.

I don’t have vote counts handy, but Tom Arnold defeated Lenny Ladner for Chair and Cole Ebel defeated outgoing Secretary Daniel Lewis for Vice Chair. The Secretary and Treasurer position were uncontested, unless there were nominations from the floor that were not publicized prior to the convention, except that NOTA is always a candidate in LP elections. The four winning officers ran as a slate and reportedly won overwhelmingly. Among bylaws amendments, notably the number of regions within the state party was increased to 9 (I’m not sure how many there were before…from memory, possibly 3 or 4).

Photos via various attendees on facebook:

The venue in Murfreesboro:

Sunday morning training:

Tom Arnold stumping for chair:

“Erika Bodoin Ebel

Full House here at the LPTN 2017 Convention! We had to open up the adjoining room!”

LPTN Convention Agenda Saturday:

07:30 – 8:30 Pre-Credentialing of Members
8:30 – 8:35 Opening Remarks
8:35 – 8:40 Secretary’s Report (Minutes from 2016 Convention)
8:40 – 8:50 Chairman’s State of the Party
8:50 – 9:05 Treasurer’s Report (Hard Copy Handout) Report on FY16 Budget
9:05 – 9:45 Treasurer’s Report (Hard Copy Handout) Proposed FY17 Budget
9:45 – 10:00 Break (Those NOT credentialed at check in go to credential table)
10:00 – 10:10 Credential Voting Members (No further credentialing will be done from this point)
10:10 – 10:20 Vote to approve FY17 Budget
10:20 – 10:40 Nominating of Candidates for LPTN Officers
10:40 – 11:40 Speaking time for Candidates (15 Minutes budget for group of Candidates, each candidate has 5 Minutes to talk. Start with Chair Candidates, then Vice Chair, Treasurer, Secretary)
11:40 – 11:50 Vote for Candidates
11:50 – 12:00 Break (Tabulate Results)
12:00 – 12:10 Announce Results of LPTN Officer Elections
12:10 – 1:30 Break for Lunch
1:30 – 3:15 Time Budgeted to discuss Amendments to Bylaws (Articles 2 & 3)
3:15 – 3:30 Break
3:30 – 3:45 State Representative Jeremy Faison
3:45 – 4:00 Michael Fulbright
4:00 – 4:15 State Representative Van Huss
4:15 – 4:40 Glenn Jacobs (Kane)
4:40 – 4:45 Outgoing Chair to introduce Incoming Chair
4:45 – 5:00 Incoming Chair’s closing remarks

Friday night socializing before the convention:

I saw a listing of topics for Michael Pickens’ seminar earlier, but was not able to find it when I looked for it again just now.

Corrections, additional details, links to coverage elsewhere and discussion welcome in the comments.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.